Oxford Middle School Wins 2017 Mississippi Regional Middle School Science Bowl

Jackson, Mississippi — February 3, 2017 — Students from Oxford Middle School in Oxford won the 2017 Mississippi Regional Middle School Science Bowl. The event was held Saturday, January 28 at the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science in Columbus.

Sponsored by the Mississippi Development Authority and MSMS, the competition hosted 22 teams from middle schools around the state.

“The Mississippi Regional Middle School Science Bowl encourages students to excel in science-related classes by supporting STEM learning at a young age. We congratulate the Oxford Middle School team on this exciting win,” said MDA Executive Director Glenn McCullough, Jr.

The Oxford Middle School team, coached by school instructor Sherilyn Coleman, is made of up students Fawaz Ahmad, Edmund Doerkson, Kareem Elgohry, Srujana Murtha and Emmanuelle Teng. The students will advance to the National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C., where they will compete against 40 other regional middle school winners from around the country.

The full list of teams participating in this year’s Mississippi Regional Middle School Science Bowl include:

  • Jackson Preparatory School, Jackson
  • Academy of Innovation, Raymond
  • Margaret Green Junior High School, Cleveland
  • New Hope Middle School, Columbus
  • North Pontotoc School, Ecru
  • Northwest Rankin Middle School, Flowood
  • St. Andrew’s Episcopal School, Ridgeland,
  • Starkville Academy, Starkville
  • West Lauderdale Middle School, Collinsville

For more information regarding the Mississippi Regional Middle School Science Bowl, contact event coordinator Lisa Campbell at 601.359.6600 or lcampbell@mississippi.org.

Contact Us Using The Form Below