Mississippi Elementary Students Receive Energy Smart Awards during Mississippi Science and Engineering Fairs

Jackson, Mississippi — May 3, 2017 — The Mississippi Development Authority’s Energy and Natural Resources Division recently awarded five Mississippi students with the Energy Smart Award. The awards were given during the Mississippi Science and Engineering Fairs.

“Promoting STEM research in our schools helps to shape the energy workforce of the future,” said MDA Executive Director Glenn McCullough, Jr. “The Mississippi Science and Engineering Fairs provide a unique opportunity to showcase our students’ capabilities, hard work and dedication on a larger scale.”

The annual Energy Smart Award identifies student projects which successfully demonstrate energy efficiency, energy conservation and/or the use of renewable energy resources, such as solar, biomass or wind power.

The 2017 Energy Smart Award recipients are:

  • March 23 – Malick Yedjou, Sister Thea Bowman Catholic School, Region II
  • March 24 – Bree Phillips, East Central Elementary, Region IV
  • March 31 – Zack Warrington, Hayes Cooper Center, Region III
  • April 11 – Geoffrey Melton, Poplar Springs Elementary, Region V
  • April 12 – Cortavion Craft, Tylertown Elementary School, Region I

To qualify for the award, judges evaluated the students’ projects in accordance with specific criteria regarding content, scientific thought, creativity, skill and thoroughness.

Contact Us Using The Form Below