Oxford Middle School Wins MS Regional Middle School Science Bowl

Jackson, Miss. (February 6, 2014) — Students from Oxford Middle School in Oxford, Miss., won the 2014 Mississippi Regional Middle School Science Bowl, which was held Saturday, Feb. 1, at the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science in Columbus. The competition was co-sponsored by the Mississippi Development Authority’s Energy and Natural Resources Division, the Tennessee Valley Authority, MSMS and the Mississippi Science Teachers’ Association.  Twenty-five teams from middle schools around the state participated in the event.
Oxford Middle School instructor Holly Stewart coached students Isuru Hewmanna, Anish Ravishankar, Tamjeed Azad, Jeffrey Wang and Shabazz Gul in preparation of the competition. The team will go on to compete against more than 40 other regional middle school winners in the National Science Bowl, which is scheduled for April 24-28 at the National 4-H Center in Washington, D.C.
Additional schools that participated in the competition include runner-up Germantown Middle School, Booneville R.H. Long Middle School, Carver Middle School, Friendship Christian Academy, Margaret Green Junior High, Neshoba Central Middle School, New Hope Middle School, Northwest Rankin Middle School, North Pontotoc Middle School and Tupelo Middle School.
The U.S. Department of Energy created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields. It is now the nation’s largest science competition.

Categories and Search