Mississippi Freedom Trail

Mississippi Freedom Trail
From: Visit Mississippi (July 6, 2014)

The 15th marker on the Mississippi Freedom Trail was unveiled in McComb last week. This latest marker is in honor of C.C. Bryant, best known for his contributions to the Civil Rights and Voter Registration Movement, both in Mississippi and across the nation. In 1954, Bryant was elected president of the Pike County Chapter of the NAACP, followed by his election as vice president of Mississippi State Conference of the NAACP under the leadership of Aaron E. Henry and Field Secretary Medgar Evers. In 1965, Bryant testified before the Civil Rights Commission to eliminate discriminatory voting practices. His testimony, along with that of other civil rights leaders, helped pave the way for the passing and signing of the Voting Rights Act of 1965.
But Bryant is only one of the courageous men and women that the state of Mississippi is recognizing for their dedication to the fight for justice and equality.
In commemoration of those heroes and Mississippi’s pivotal role in the American Civil Rights Movement, the Mississippi Freedom Trail was created in 2011. This unique cultural initiative offers a virtual tour of the state and an in-depth look at the people and places that played a pivotal role in the fight for justice and equality.
Both a visitor attraction and an educational tool, the Mississippi Freedom Trail recognizes the bravery and courage of the men and women who were a part of the movement in the 1950s, ’60s and beyond. It serves as an acknowledgement of the state’s dark past, but most importantly, the trail is a reminder of Mississippi’s thriving present and bright future.
Read Full Article

Categories and Search